Tell Me About Yourself - Interview Question

One of the most common interview questions is “Tell me about yourself”.Those questions are likely to pop up at every stage of the interview process from start to final rounds.

Why Interviewers Ask It

It allows the interviewers to hear a short, summed up version of your background and skills. And also gives them insight into what experience and qualifications you think are most relevant to the position.

By answering this question well, you set the tone for the interview as someone confident, good under pressure, and attentive to the position’s qualifications.

A simple format for answering

A simple and effective format for structuring your response is present, past, and future.

  • Present: Talk a little bit about what your current role is, the scope of it, and a significant recent accomplishment.
  • Past: Tell the interviewer how you got there and mention the previous experience relevant to the job and company you’re applying for.
  • Future: Talk a little bit about what you’re looking to do next and where you’re interested in that field.

This isn’t the only way to build your response, of course, and you can tweak it as you see fit. You can also share those points in your answer.

  • Mention past experiences and proven successes
  • Consider how your current job is related to the job you’ve applied
  • Focus on strengths and abilities that you can support
  • Highlight your personality to break the ice

Example Answer

Sometimes seeing an example can be helpful, though each person’s “Tell me about yourself,” the answer will be different. Below is a few short examples of a solution.

Example 1:

“I can sum up my entire personal and professional life in three words – I can win! My dad and my current boss both would vouch because I have havoc wrecking never-say-die spirit! It is impossible to subdue me, no matter what. I also make sure that this attitude becomes contagious within my team. Some of my colleagues say that I encourage my teammates as a football coach during crunched situations!”

Example 2:

“I’ve been passionate about design since I was a kid. My parents remodelled their house when I was in high school and allowed me to play an active role in the interior design plans. I knew then that I wanted to pursue interior design as my career. I studied Interior Design at Savannah College of Art and Design and graduated four years ago.”

“Since college, I’ve been working at an interior design firm in Savannah, Georgia. During my time there, I’ve built my portfolio by designing both residential and commercial spaces. My experience at the firm has built up my proficiencies in billing and cutting edge technologies, and it has also allowed me to build strong relationships with local suppliers. The most rewarding part of my job has been working in Savannah’s historic buildings. This experience has familiarized me with best-in-class building preservation.”

“Moving forward, I would love to work at a design firm such as yours that specializes in the design and preservation of historical buildings. I believe my experience and passion for preservation will allow me to be a great asset to your design team.”

So relax and take the interview as a pleasant journey and not a dreaded ride. Hope this article helps you to achieve the same. All the best.